Skip to content

Top 10 Hymns

September 13, 2007

 

Cortney and I were talking tonight over dinner about how much we like hymns. She posed the question “what are your favorite hymns.” Immediately I felt a post coming on. So relax, no announcements to remember, no deep thoughts to process. Here’s the question “If you had to make a top 10 list of your favorite hymns what hymns would be on it?” Comment and leave your favorites and we’ll see if we can compile some sort of top 10 list. Only two rules #1 you have to be able to find it in a hymnal, or #2 it has to be at least like 100 years old (Sorry Mike no Jeremy Camp) 

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Kathy permalink*
    September 13, 2007 2:51 am

    So, I am really bad at this game. I’ve narrowed it down to 18. I’ll try to cut out 8 soon and give you a final list. Does it have to be in order with most favorite being first? This is hard! Hope y’all are having a great week!

    It Is Well
    The Old Rugged Cross
    Amazing Grace
    How Great Thou Art
    At the Cross
    Jesus Paid it All
    Just as I Am
    The Savior Is Waiting
    Softly and Tenderly
    Turn Your Eyes Upon Jesus
    Blessed Assurance
    Standing on the Promises
    Jesus Loves Me
    I Surrender All
    What a Friend We Have in Jesus
    Because He Lives
    Love Lifted Me
    Victory in Jesus

  2. winnk permalink*
    September 13, 2007 2:56 am

    OK, so I am really frustrated. I spent forever coming up with a list, then I clicked “say it” and it disappeared. So needless to say, I have to create my list all over. I’ll post it tomorrow. (by the way, this is really hard. I actually had 18 songs on my list but I’m going to bed before I throw the laptop through the window!) Hope y’all are having a great week!

  3. Jeffrey permalink*
    September 14, 2007 12:17 am

    Just checking to make sure the comments are showing up.

  4. Cortney permalink*
    September 14, 2007 12:18 am

    Ok, here I go…these are in no particular order…they are all great! 🙂

    1. Before the Throne
    2. Come Thou Fount
    3. Be Thou My Vision
    4. Great is Thy Faithfulness
    5. Blessed Assurance
    6. How Great Thou Art
    7. Because He Lives
    8. Amazing Grace
    9. It is Well
    10. When I Survey the Wondrous Cross
    11. Pass Me Not, O Gentle Savior
    12. Take My Life
    13. His Eye is on the Sparrow
    14. I Surrender
    15. Creatures of Our God and King
    16. On Christ the Solid Rock I Stand

    Ok, I could keep going and going….but, that’s all for now!

  5. Kathy permalink*
    September 14, 2007 1:25 am

    Well, I guess it showed up after all…I see that Cortney had a tough time with only 10 too!

  6. ashleigh white permalink
    September 17, 2007 1:18 am

    Here are some of my all time Favorite hymns:

    1. How Great Thou Art
    2. I surrender All
    3. Because He Lives
    4. It is Well
    5 Blessed Assurance
    6. Great Is Thy Faithfulness
    7. Amazing Grace
    8. The Old Rugged Cross
    9. Just As I am
    10. Because He Lives

    There are SOOO many. it is hard to narrow it down to 10! 🙂

Leave a comment